1997 Nishina awards to CANGAROO!

On November 28, 1997, Nishina Memorial Foundation (director Dr. Kazuhiko Nishijima) awarded a Nishina prize for the pronounced atomic physicists of the year 1997 to 4 persons, including the Professor Tadashi Kifune of the Institute for Cosmic Ray Research, University of Tokyo and the Associate Professor Toru Tanimori of the Tokyo Institute for Technology for their detection of very high energy gamma-rays from celestial objects with the CANGAROO telescope. The reception will be held on December 5, 1997, at Tokyo Kaikan (Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo).